top of page
Search
  • daria.locher

Hello, I'm Daria!

I recently graduated from Washington University in St. Louis with a double major in Political Science and International and Area Studies, concentrating in Russian Cultural Studies. I won the IAS Outstanding Thesis Award for my thesis titled "Winged out of Woe from Wit: The Entrance of Literary Phrases into Russia’s Oral History."

I am primarily interested in how culture lies at the foundation of foreign policy, and how the interaction of different value systems reflect in the difficult calculation of international negotiations.

At heart, I love to read texts that lie at the cultural core of a country – whether that is my own, as a United States citizen, or in one of the countries that adopted me temporarily in my lifetime, France and Russia.

I am forever learning and I hope that learning curve reflects in my writing posted here.


---


For more information about me, check out my "About me" page (find it on the menu bar!).

34 views

Recent Posts

See All

Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents. A Book Review.

Isabel Wilkerson’s Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents peels back the murky bureaucracy and many layers of socioeconomic relations in America to state her simple truth: America does not have racial

bottom of page